_NPCScan

21 - Stop discarding the user's custom list

Upgrading from the old pre-mop version to 5.2, my list of custom NPCs was silently discarded.
So I took an hour to sort through my old settings and restore it.

Today, upgrading from 5.2 to 5.4, my list of custom NPCs was AGAIN silently discarded.
This is a very douchy thing to do to users. This addon has very few settings, but that custom list can represent alot of user effort and IMO should never be discarded.

If the addon wants to upgrade to a new settings database, it should either upgrade the previous settings, or otherwise there should be a very loud and obvious notice in the changelog and possibly a popup that this version will destroy all your settings.

User When Change
Torhal Oct 12, 2013 at 22:51 UTC Changed status from New to Fixed
oscarucb Oct 11, 2013 at 23:16 UTC Create

You must login to post a comment. Don't have an account? Register to get one!

  • 3 comments
  • Avatar of oscarucb oscarucb Oct 12, 2013 at 01:56 UTC - 0 likes

    Fixed in 5.4.0.4-9-ga5f9b37

  • Avatar of oscarucb oscarucb Oct 12, 2013 at 01:11 UTC - 0 likes

    I believe the problematic code is here:

     846         if stored_options and stored_options.Version ~= DB_VERSION then
     847                 local stored_version = stored_options.Version
     848 
     849                 if not stored_version or type(stored_version) == "string" or stored_version < DB_VERSION then
     850                         stored_options = private.OptionsDefault
     851                 end
    

    The branch should probably try to copy the old custom list instead of just completely replacing the SV.

    Last edited Oct 12, 2013 by oscarucb
  • Avatar of SLOKnightfall SLOKnightfall Oct 11, 2013 at 23:43 UTC - 0 likes

    Apologies about the lost data. The upgrade to 5.2 changed how the default rare mobs list handled and how the data was being stored. Unfortunately there was no good way to transition the data which is why it was reset. The changes to how settings were being handled were noted in the 5.1 patch notes. I don't know why the update to 5.4 reset the settings, as much of that has been handled by Torhal. Unfortunately these things do happen, which is why users should periodically backup there settings files.

  • 3 comments

Facts

Last updated
Oct 12, 2013
Reported
Oct 11, 2013
Status
Fixed - Developer made requested changes. QA should verify.
Type
Defect - A shortcoming, fault, or imperfection
Priority
Medium - Normal priority.
Votes
0

Reported by

Possible assignees